fr en
Films
Ma vie de courgette
Saturday, April 27, 10:45
Claude BarrasFrance, Switzerland2016French with English subtitles66 min

Family screening suitable for kids 7 and up After his mother’s sudden death, Zucchini is befriended by a police officer, Raymond, who accompanies him to his new foster home, filled with other orphans his age. At first he struggles to find his place in this at times strange and hostile environment. But with Raymond’s help […]

Mad Dog Labine
Saturday, April 27, 15:00
Renaud Lessard, Jonathan Beaulieu-Cyr(Quebec) Canada2018French with English subtitles85 min

The heroes of this inventive film are kids and teenagers from Pontiac in the Outaouais, a land of lakes and rivers light years away from the big city. They are smart-alecky Lindsay, left on her own when her father goes off hunting, and her friend Justine, a child of hippies who, by some miracle, wins […]

Mary Jane’s Not a Virgin Anymore
Friday, April 26, 18:30
Thursday, May 2, 21:00
Sarah JacobsonUSA1997English125 min

DeuXX is psyched to bring to Montreal the American Genre Film Archives’s brand spanking new restoration of two films by 90s self-proclaimed “Queen of Underground Film”, Sarah Jacobson! Jacobson’s promising career was sadly cut way too short, when the filmmaker lost her battle with cancer at the tragic young age of 32. Hugely inspired by […]

Mirai of the Future – Miraï, ma petite soeur
Mamoru HosodaJapan2018Japanese with French subtitles or English version98 min

Suitable for kids 6 years old (English dubbed version) or 9 years old (French subtitled version). Japanese dubbed version with French subtitles: April 17 English dubbed version:  Kun, a little boy, enjoys a happy childhood until the arrival of his baby sister, Mirai. As the new baby becomes the center of his parents’ attention, he becomes increasingly […]

P’tites vues du festival REGARD
2019French and English45 min

Family screening – Suitable for kids 3 years old and up. In collaboration with REGARD, Festival international du court métrage au Saguenay  A selection of exceptional children’s films that will delight grownups too. The Family Shorties program is a must-see event for families! This screening for ages 3 and up offers a collection of short films […]

Pachamama : le trésor sacré
Juan AntinFrance2019français72 min

Family screening – Suitable for kids 6 years old and up Tepulpaï and Naïra, two children of the Cordillera of the Andes, set out in pursuit of Pachamama, the protective totem of their village, confiscated by the Incas. Their quest will lead them to Cuzco, the royal capital besieged by the conquistadors. César Award Nomination […]

Passion
Saturday, May 11, 16:00
Ryūsuke HamaguchiJapon2008Japanese with English subtitles115 min

*Director Ryūsuke Hamaguchi in attendance May 11th. At a friends’ gathering in a restaurant, a young couple announces their engagement. During that night and the following days, tension between the participants rapidly comes to the surface and their mutual bonds fundamentally change. A young couple announces their engagement at a celebration with friends whose reactions, however, indicate […]

Rafiki
Sunday, April 28, 15:15
Wanuri KahiuKenya, South Africa, France2018Multilingual with French or English subtitles82 min

With French subtitles: April 20th With English subtitles: April 28th Eyes that light up, knowing smiles, lingering gazes: Kena and Ziki get butterflies whenever they’re together. Their fathers are facing off in an election they couldn’t care less about. They’re feeling the first glimmers of love and that’s all that matters. For her second feature, […]

Répertoire des villes disparues
Denis Côté(Quebec) Canada2019French with English subtitles97 min

In Irénée-les-Neiges, a small, isolated town with a population of 215, Simon Dubé dies in a car accident. The stunned townspeople are reluctant to discuss the circumstances of the tragedy. From that point on, for the Dubé family as well as for Mayor Smallwood and a handful of others, time seems to lose all meaning, […]

Roma
Saturday, April 27, 12:15
Sunday, April 28, 12:30
Alfonso CuarónMexico, United States2018Spanish with English or French subtitles135 min4K, Dolby Atmos

WE ENCOURAGE YOU TO PURCHASE YOUR TICKETS ONLINE (SOLD OUT SCREENINGS): HERE 4K + Dolby Atmos immersive sound screenings The most personal project to date from Academy Award-winning director and writer Alfonso Cuarón (Gravity, Children of Men, Y Tu Mama Tambien), ROMA follows Cleo (Yalitza Aparicio), a young domestic worker for a family in the middle-class neighborhood […]

1 2 3 4

fr en
Films
Ma vie de courgette
Samedi 27 avril, 10h45
Claude BarrasFrance, Suisse2016français avec sous-titres anglais66 min

Séance Famille dès 7 ans Courgette n’a rien d’un légume, c’est un vaillant petit garçon. Il croit qu’il est seul au monde quand il perd sa mère. Mais c’est sans compter sur les rencontres qu’il va faire dans sa nouvelle vie au foyer pour enfants. Simon, Ahmed, Jujube, Alice et Béatrice : ils ont tous leurs histoires […]

Mad Dog Labine
Samedi 27 avril, 15h00
Renaud Lessard, Jonathan Beaulieu-Cyr(Québec) Canada2018français avec sous-titres anglais85 min

Dans le Far West québécois, c’est le début de la chasse à l’orignal. Lindsay Labine et sa meilleure amie Justine volent des canettes de bières pour se payer des gratteux. Deux jeunes actrices non-professionnelles donnent vie à Mad Dog Labine, un film fougueux et inventif écrit et tourné entièrement dans la région du Pontiac, au cœur […]

Mary Jane’s Not a Virgin Anymore
Vendredi 26 avril, 18h30
Jeudi 02 mai, 21h00
États-Unis1997anglais125 min

DeuXX est très excitée de présenter pour la première fois à Montréal la toute nouvelle restauration de deux oeuvres de Sarah Jacobson, l’auto-proclamée « Reine du cinéma underground » des années 90! La carrière fort prometteuse de Jacobson est brusquement interrompue lorsque la cinéaste perd tragiquement sa lutte contre le cancer à l’âge de 32 ans. Tirant […]

Miraï, ma petite soeur – Mirai of the Future
Mamoru HosodaJapon2018japonais avec sous-titres français ou version anglaise98 min

Dès 6 ans en version anglaise, ou dès 9 ans en version japonaise avec sous-titres français. Version japonaise avec sous-titres français : 17 avril Version anglaise :  Kun est un petit garçon à l’enfance heureuse jusqu’à l’arrivée de Miraï, sa petite soeur. Jaloux de ce bébé qui monopolise l’attention de ses parents, il se replie […]

P’tites vues du festival REGARD
2019français et anglais45 min

Séance Famille dès 3 ans. En collaboration avec REGARD, Festival international du court métrage au Saguenay  Une sélection de films exceptionnels pour les petits qui captivent aussi les grands. La séance des P’tites Vues est un évènement familial désormais incontournable du festival REGARD! Profitez de la reprise du programme par le Cinéma Moderne pour offrir […]

Pachamama : le trésor sacré
Juan AntinFrance2019français72 min

Séance Famille dès 6 ans. Tepulpaï et Naïra, deux enfants de la Cordillère des Andes, partent à la poursuite de la Pachamama, totem protecteur de leur village, confisqué par les Incas. Leur quête les mènera jusqu’à Cuzco, capitale royale assiégée par les conquistadors. [ …] un film visuellement joyeux et bien raconté sur la transmission […]

Passion
Samedi 11 mai, 16h00
Ryūsuke HamaguchiJapon2008japonais avec sous-titres anglais115 min

*En présence du réalisateur Ryūsuke Hamaguchi le 11 mai. Un jeune couple annonce son mariage lors d’une fête entre amis. Les réactions de ces derniers révèlent des failles sentimentales jusque-là inexprimées au sein du groupe. Les jours suivants, la tension remonte à la surface. Un jeune couple annonce son mariage lors d’une fête avec des […]

Rafiki
Dimanche 28 avril, 15h15
Wanuri KahiuKenya, Afrique du Sud, France2018multilingue avec sous-titres français ou anglais82 min

Avec sous-titres français : 20 avril Avec sous-titres anglais : 28 avril Les yeux s’illuminent, les sourires se font complices et les regards insistants ; Kena et Ziki ont des papillons dans le ventre lorsqu’elles passent du temps ensemble. Leurs pères respectifs s’affrontent durant une campagne électorale qui les laisse indifférentes. Elles vivent leurs premiers […]

Répertoire des villes disparues
Denis Côté(Québec) Canada2019français avec sous-titres anglais97 min

À Irénée-les-Neiges, bourgade perdue de 215 habitants, Simon Dubé perd la vie en voiture. Choqués, les gens n’osent trop parler des circonstances de la tragédie. Dorénavant, pour la famille Dubé, la mairesse Smallwood et une poignée d’autres, le temps semble se rompre et les jours flottent sans fin. Quelque chose s’abat lentement sur la région. […]

Roma
Samedi 27 avril, 12h15
Dimanche 28 avril, 12h30
Alfonso CuarónMexique, États-Unis2018espagnol avec sous-titres français ou anglais135 min4K, Dolby Atmos

RÉSERVATION CONSEILLÉE (SÉANCES COMPLÈTES), MERCI D’ACHETER VOS BILLETS EN LIGNE ICI Séances 4K et son immersif Dolby Atmos Le projet le plus personnel jusqu’à ce jour du réalisateur et scénariste couronné aux Oscars Alfonso Cuarón (Gravity, Children of Men, Y Tu Mama Tambien), ROMA suit Cleo (Yalitza Aparicio), une jeune domestique travaillant pour une famille […]

1 2 3 4