fr en
Films

The Hitch-Hiker

Director(s)
Ida Lupino
Country
USA
Year
1953
Language
English
Duration
71 min

Remembered as one of the most nightmarish motion pictures of the 1950s, Ida Lupino’s The Hitch-Hiker remains the only classic film noir directed by a woman. Screening for the first time in Montreal in its restored version!

Beyond its obvious cultural significance as the first and only classic film noir directed by a woman (actress Ida Lupino), The Hitch-Hiker is perhaps better remembered as simply one of the most nightmarish motion pictures of the 1950s. Inspired by the true-life murder spree of Billy Cook, The Hitch-Hiker is the tension-laden saga of two men on a camping trip (Edmond O’Brien and Frank Lovejoy) who are held captive by a homicidal drifter (William Talman). He forces them, at gunpoint, to embark on a grim joyride across the Mexican desert.

Renegade filmmaking at its finest, The Hitch-Hiker was independently produced, which allowed Lupino and ex-husband/producer Collier Young to work from a treatment by blacklisted writer Daniel Mainwaring, and tackle an incident that was too brutal for the major studios to even consider.

Tickets
Director(s)
Ida Lupino
Country
USA
Year
1953
Language
English
Duration
71 min
As part of:

fr en
Films

The Hitch-Hiker

Réalisation
Ida Lupino
Pays
États-Unis
Année
1953
Langue ST
anglais
Durée
71 min

L’une des œuvres les plus cauchemardesques des années 1950, The Hitch-Hiker d’Ida Lupino est le seul film noir classique réalisé par une femme. À découvrir pour la première fois à Montréal en version restaurée!

Au-delà de son importance culturelle évidente en tant que premier et seul film noir classique réalisé par une femme (l’actrice Ida Lupino), The Hitch-Hiker est aussi tout simplement l’une des œuvres les plus cauchemardesques des années 1950. Inspiré de la véritable série de meurtres brutaux de Billy Cook, The Hitch-Hiker met en scène la saga haletante de deux hommes partis en camping (Edmond O’Brien et Frank Lovejoy) qui se retrouvent prisonniers d’un assassin hantant les routes (William Talman). Sous la menace d’une arme, il les embarque dans une sombre virée à travers le désert mexicain.

Bel exemple de cinéma hors-pistes, The Hitch-Hiker fut produit de manière indépendante, ce qui a permis à Lupino et à son ex-mari et producteur Collier Young de collaborer avec le scénariste blacklisté Daniel Mainwaring, ainsi que de s’attaquer à un sujet bien trop violent pour les grands studios. À découvrir pour la première fois à Montréal en version restaurée!

Billetterie
Réalisation
Ida Lupino
Pays
États-Unis
Année
1953
Langue ST
anglais
Durée
71 min
Dans le
cadre de :
M : Les Maudits

Série mensuelle