fr en
Films

Pays rêvés, pays réel

Duration
60 min

Click here to rent the film – 5$

“Pays rêvés, pays réel” is a program curated by Miryam Charles as part of a multi-event organized by BOILING POINT*, a collective BIPOC based in Tiohtià:ke [Montréal]. In collaboration with h264.

In an ideal world, we would be united. In that world, life would be kinder, lighter . Then there is cinema, that shows that we are still far from this ideal, which is however not so difficult to reach. 

Plage de sable Marie-Eve Juste | 2014 | 21 min | French with English subtitles
A group of friends spend the weekend in a remote cabin in the woods. One of them brings her young, black boyfriend, leading to forbidden games and revealing the prejudices lurking in a so-called progressive society. A beautiful and deeply disturbing film.

Pariah, my brother, I follow you, show me the route to the springs Esery Mondésir | 2019 | 20 min | English
The holiday season is fast approaching in Tijuana, Mexico where Saül and his father-in-law, Mathieu are getting ready for a busy day at the street market selling recycled tennis shoes. In the darkness of Dawn, the deserted road to the Market swells up with memories of their migration journey. After a long trek from Haiti, Brazil and nine other South and Central-American countries, they have been here two years, waiting for a chance to claim asylum in the US. We too shall wait for the sunrise, haunted by the words of Davertige, he too, a passer-by on The Route to the springs hoping to quench the thirst for freedom, liberty and the pursuit of happiness, a simple human dream the Americans call theirs. Saul and Mathieu are not waiting; they build, they love, they live.

Cherche Femme Forte Marilyn Cooke | 2019 | 15 min | French with English subtitles
Nadège lacks the self-confidence to assert her desires… until the day she discovers a new passion that awakens the beast in her.

*Boiling Point is a BIPOC collective based in Montreal. By reclaiming the city’s space, BOILING POINT aspires to reshape minds by addressing the multiple artistic needs within the BIPOC and LGBTQ2S + communities.

Tickets
Duration
60 min

fr en
Films

Pays rêvés, pays réel

Durée
60 min

Cliquez ici pour louer le film – 5$

« Pays rêvés, pays réel » est une programmation de courts-métrages conçue par Miryam Charles dans le cadre d’un multi-évènements organisé par BOILING POINT*, un collectif d’artistes et penseurs BIPOC basé à Tiohtià:ke [Montréal]. En collaboration avec h264.

Dans un monde idéal, nous serions unis. Dans ce monde, la vie serait plus douce et juste assez légère. Puis, il y a le cinéma qui révèle qu’on est encore loin de cet idéal qui n’est pourtant pas si difficile à atteindre. 

Plage de sable Marie-Eve Juste | 2014 | 21 min | français sous-titré anglais
Un groupe d’amis passe la fin de semaine dans un chalet. La présence du jeune ami noir de l’une d’entre eux agit comme révélateur. Entre réalité sociale et jeux interdits, un film beau et profondément troublant sur les malaises d’une société pas si progressiste et sur les préjugés qui la hantent.

Pariah, my brother, I follow you, show me the route to the springs Esery Mondésir | 2019 | 20 min | anglais
La saison des vacances approche à grands pas à Tijuana, au Mexique, où Saül et son beau-père, Mathieu, se préparent à une journée bien remplie au marché de rue où ils vendent des chaussures de tennis recyclées. Dans l’obscurité de l’aube, la route déserte qui mène au marché se remplit de souvenirs de leur voyage migratoire. Après un long périple depuis Haïti, le Brésil et neuf autres pays d’Amérique centrale et du Sud, ils sont ici depuis deux ans, attendant de pouvoir demander l’asile aux États-Unis. Nous aussi, nous attendrons le lever du soleil, hantés par les paroles de Davertige, lui aussi, passant sur La Route des sources, espérant étancher la soif de liberté, de liberté et de poursuite du bonheur, un simple rêve humain que les Américains appellent le leur. Saul et Mathieu n’attendent pas, ils construisent, ils aiment, ils vivent.

Cherche Femme Forte Marilyn Cooke | 2019 | 15 min | français sous-titré anglais
Nadège manque d’assurance pour affirmer ses désirs… jusqu’au jour où elle découvre une nouvelle passion qui éveille la bête en elle.

*Boiling Point est un collectif d’artistes BIPOC basé à Montréal. En reprenant possession de l’espace à travers une marche artistique traversant la ville, BOILING POINT aspire à refaçonner les esprits en s’attaquant aux besoins artistiques multiples au sein des communautés BIPOC et LGBTQ2S+. 

Billetterie
Durée
60 min